Stay on top!

Get helpful articles and special offers once a month.

2019 MRS Fall Meeting featured a variety of outreach, career, and professional development offerings

Huey, D.
MRS Bull.


The MRS AWARDS AND RECOGNITION PROGRAM strives to acknowledge outstanding contributors to the progress of materials research and to recognize their accomplishments. At the Fall Meeting, MRS recognized JERRY D. TERSOFF, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, with the Von Hippel Award for advancing the understanding of low-dimensional and nanoscale electronic materials. PAULA T. HAMMOND, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was selected as the David Turnbull Lecturer for her contributions to the science, engineering, and applications of self-assembled macromolecular systems. LU SHAM, University of California, San Diego, received the Materials Theory Award for pioneering contributions to the quantum theory of molecules and solids, especially the Kohn–Sham formulation of density functional theory. CATHERINE J. MURPHY, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and HAIMEI ZHENG, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, were selected as MRS Medalists for outstanding contributions on the study of anisotropic nanoscale materials, transformation, and application.

DOI: 10.1557/mrs.2020.54